Year 2. Subject.

For me, Level 5 has been a time for me to not only experiment and create different work but moreover a time to contemplate the context and the idea in a more critical way. As the year has progressed the message I want my work to communicate has become more and more at the forefront of what I do. I have realised that the message and purpose in my work is the most important part of what I do. As someone who is putting their work into the world, I have the ability to think about what message I want the work to convey.

This year, I felt that field was completely different to first year. Both the projects I took part in, I feel have influenced my subject practice since. For me, that was a one of the key differences that made this year more successful. I personally felt that to recognise the links, differences and moments of overlap really strengthened my subject work. This was because I was able to think more broadly about the work that I was creating.

During the course of the year, there have been a few stand out moments that I think have changed my practice. I firstly realised that one of the most crucial things for my work was that I had to deeply care about what I was doing. That started with the collections project which for which, I used my grandad as the subject matter. I feel that the personal connection between myself and the work meant I was able to create something that had more substance to it than just work that looked nice. Although, one of the key things I took away from that project was that although it was really important for me personally to have a connection, it was equally as important for the audience of the work to feel the emotion in the work. In the collections project, I felt slightly lost when considering audience and although I have most certainly not perfected addressing my audience, since then I have definitely considered it more in projects since.

Overall, I would say that year has been incredibly important in a personal sense as well as for the development of my work. This past year, I have realised what I really care about, which has become the driving force behind my work. I feel more confident in that I know what my aims are and clearer in the message that I want to communicate. I have realised that the work that I create has more to it that just an image on a page, it has a message and power behind it. Next year, it’s my aim to keep pushing forward and creating work that is powerful with a considered balance of lightness and thought.

Published by

jessieslight

Level 5 BA Hons Illustration student at Cardiff School of Art and Design.

Leave a Reply

